This blog features posts from members of the Foundation's Research + Archives Team and guest contributors who share their expertise and insight on a variety of subjects related to the Garden of the Phoenix, including Garden updates, research and previews of content that is being collected for the Garden's archives.
July 1935 – The Opening of the Restored Phoenix Pavilion and Japanese Garden
On July 14, 1935, the Chicago Park District and the Japanese Consul at Chicago conducted its final inspection of the restored Phoenix Pavilion and newly constructed Japanese garden. Present were George T. Donohue, General Superintendent of the Chicago Park District, and Kaora Hayashi, acting Consul at Chicago. Also present at the July 15 final inspection, among other invited guests, where Mr. Shoji Osata, concessioner for the new Japanese garden complex, and three young women in kimono: H. Yamaji, Martha Shintani, and Kiyomi Shintani.
An Account of the Phoenix Pavilion Dedication Ceremony
The Japanese Commission was granted permission to build on the Wooded Island in February 1892. During the next fourteen months, the Phoenix Pavilion was designed and constructed in Tokyo, shipped to San Francisco by steamer, and then brought by rail to Jackson Park, Chicago.
“They propose to do the most exquisitely beautiful things…”
On February 3, 1892, the Japanese Commission, led by Seiichi Tejima (1850-1918), met again with the leadership of the World’s Columbian Exposition to present their revised plans to build a pavilion on the Wooded Island to showcase for the first time in America the greatest achievements of Japan’s artistic heritage.